Tasmania’s STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) leaders have been celebrated at the fourth annual Tasmanian STEM Excellence Awards today.
The awards acknowledge our local scientific achievers and inspire others by showcasing innovative achievements across the core fields of study and research.
This year, Dr Stephen R. Rintoul from CSIRO was awarded the Premier’s Tasmanian STEM Researcher of the Year prize for his pioneering work on climate research in the Southern Ocean.
Dr Carlie Cullen from the Menzies Institute for Medical Research received the Tasmanian Young STEM Researcher of the Year award with her research into Multiple Sclerosis.
Dr Lila Landowski from the University of Tasmania was awarded the Tasmanian STEM Communicator of the Year award for her outstanding science advocacy via radio and social media.
Kristy Tidey of Invermay Primary School and Madiyantika Varma of Launceston College, received the Tasmanian STEM Primary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year awards respectively, for inspiring their students through STEM inquiry.
The 2019 Minister’s STEM Innovation of the Year Award was awarded to Australian Seafood Industries which led the Tasmanian oyster industry’s recovery from the Pacific Oyster Mortality Syndrome (POMS) outbreak in an internationally unprecedented timeframe.
I’d like to take the opportunity to congratulate all 2019 award recipients on their achievements.

Subscribe to my newsletter

Get the latest news direct from Michael.

Thanks for subscribing